STCU awards $40,000 in classroom grants

Teachers from Kootenai, Shoshone, Bonner and Boundary counties were among those who received $200 classroom grants as part of STCU’s efforts to welcome back-to-school educators.

Founded by teachers, the nonprofit credit union honors its roots by awarding grants to 200 educators – a total of $40,000 to the winners drawn. Since the price of pencils and paper is subject to the effects of inflation, the amount of each bursary has been increased from $150 to $200. Winners can spend their scholarship on anything that will improve students’ classroom experience, whether it’s a basic need or something special.

The local winners, who were notified this week, are:

Coeur d’Alene School District:

• James Phillips, Karissa Altmeyer and Christine Sorenson, Coeur d’Alene High School

• Jacqueline Mercer, Ramsey School of Science Magnet

• James Maurer and Madison McLean, Lake City High

• Aaron Fox and Jonathan Madrid, Lakes Middle School

• Dianne Howard, Skyway Elementary School

Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy:

• Lynda LeBlanc

Genesis Preparatory Academy:

• Kathy Johnson

Hayden Canyon Charter:

• Jennifer MacKeage

Lakeland School District:

• Jacqueline Gurnard, Spirit Lake Elementary School

• Patricia Morrow and Betty Kiefer Elementary School

• Clarice Vanderkolk, Athol Primary School

• Laiken Gallis, Lakeland Junior High

• Joshua Ballard, Lakeland High School

Post-Falls School District:

• Thomas Hall, Post Falls High School

• Megan Adams, Prairie View Elementary

• Nathaniel Bergstrom, Mullan Trail Primary School

• Makenzie Curtis, River City College

• Minda Schumacher, after the high fall

Kootenai Technical Education Campus:

• Brian Davis and John Mackesy

Plummer-Worley School District:

• Jennifer Giulio, Lakeside Elementary School

St. Maries Coeducational School District:

• Kelly Johnson, St. Maries Middle School

Boundary County School District:

• Victoria Brudevold, Bonners Ferry Secondary School

Kellogg’s Coeducational School District:

• Sara Delgado, Pinehurst Elementary School

Lake Pend Oreille School District:

• Hollie Hurst, Farmin Stidwell Primary School

• Sadey Vogel, Kootenai Elementary

• Stephanie Chamberlain, Sandpoint College

Nezperce Common School District:

• Patrick Gallagher, Nezperce Junior/Senior High

Continuing a long tradition, the STCU provided meals, refreshments and door prizes at back-to-school events this year to educators and other staff in public school districts in Eastern Washington and Northern Washington. ‘Idaho.

The line drawing was open to teachers, counselors, and similar classroom positions in public and private districts served by Washington’s Educational Service Districts 101, 123, and 171 or in the eight northernmost counties of Idaho.

This is the eighth year that the STCU has offered the raffles, which have been expanded significantly in recent years to include more beneficiaries.

Comments are closed.