National excellence scholarship awarded to a Danville student


DANVILLE, CA – Another student from Danville has received a scholarship from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Alicia K. Toliver from Monte Vista High School will be attending Southern Methodist University and intends to study finance.

She is among more than 1,000 students nationwide to receive a scholarship in this final list of awards for 2021, joining more than 3,100 other college-sponsored award recipients that were announced in June..

Each sponsoring college selects scholarship recipients from the National Merit Scholarship Program finalists who will attend their institution.

Students receive between $ 500 and $ 2,000 per year for up to four years of undergraduate study at the college funding the scholarship. Exact rewards are not available.

This year, 160 colleges and universities sponsored more than 4,100 merit-based scholarships.

This latest group of laureates brings the number of 2021 National Merit Fellows to over 7,500, with a total value of nearly $ 30 million.

In addition to the college sponsored scholarships, two other types of National Merit Scholarships were offered: 2,500 National Merit Scholarships of $ 2,500, for which all finalists participated, and approximately 1,000 Company sponsored merit scholarships for finalists who met criteria specified by their granting agencies.

The scholarship winners began their journey when more than 1.5 million juniors from some 21,000 high schools took the qualifying test for the 2019 SAT / National Merit Preliminary Scholarship. This was reduced to half 17,000. -finalists last fall. The semi-finalists were the highest-rated program participants in each state and represented less than one percent of the country’s seniors.

To become a finalist, each semi-finalist had to complete a detailed scholarship application, which included writing an essay describing leadership positions and contributions to school and community activities.

Some 16,000 reached finalist status and about half were chosen to receive national merit scholarships.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.