ELECTION: Cupertino district requests tax on parcels


By Daily Post staff

Voters in the Cupertino Union School District, which stretches across part of Los Altos, have until Tuesday night (May 4) to hand in their ballots on a $ 398 per package tax, a 59% increase per compared to the current tax.

Measure A requires two-thirds approval. The last time the district tried to increase the parcel tax, in March 2020, it failed.

The parcel tax brings in $ 14 million a year. The new tax would last eight years. Supporters say the money is needed, especially now, as enrollment in the district is down, which means less state money. The state determines the funding of schools based on enrollment. But the state has no say in the proceeds of the parcel tax.

An opposition group, No on Measure A, says the district neglected students in 2020 by taking sides with the teachers’ union and keeping schools closed during the pandemic.

A separate group of parents are calling for the recall of the five school board members – Lori Cunningham, Sylvia Leong, Phyllis Vogel, Jerry Liu and Satheesh Madhathil – because they will not fight against teacher unions and do not fully reopened schools.

To trigger a recall election, the group must collect 11,000 signatures on petitions. So far, the county has approved only one petition to collect signatures against Cunningham. If there is a recall vote, it would likely happen this fall or early next year.

In this election, voters should have received a ballot in the mail earlier this month. Ballots must be returned before 8 p.m. Tuesday or postmarked Tuesday or before and received no later than three days after polling day.

There will be eight drop boxes at the following locations:

• Registrar of Electors, 1555 Berger Drive, Building 2, San Jose;
• Cupertino Town Hall, 10300, avenue Torre, Cupertino;
• Quinlan Community Center, 10185 North Stelling Road, Cupertino;
• Sunnyvale Library, 665 West Olive Ave., Sunnyvale;
• Santa Clara City Hall, 1500 Warburton Ave., Santa Clara;
• Los Altos Hills Town Hall, 26379 Fremont Road, Los Altos Hills;
• Saratoga Town Hall, 13777 Fruitvale Avenue, Saratoga;
• San Jose City Hall, 200 East Santa Clara St., Wing 2, San Jose;
• Santa Clara County Civic Center, 70 West Hedding St., San Jose.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.