Averett University Department of Education Wins National Honor

Averett University’s Department of Education recently received a national honor for being an Outstanding Provider of Educator Preparation – 1 of 4 colleges in Virginia and 32 nationally to be recognized.

The university was awarded the 2022 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement, presented by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

According to the council, Murray Prize recipients produce nearly 7,500 graduates who will impact learning from early childhood through grade 12. These establishments are selected from among educator preparation providers who have been accredited by the board at the prior year’s initial level, who have provided a comprehensive body of evidence with demonstrated data trends, and who have not received any stipulations or area of ​​improvement.

“We are honored and grateful to have been selected for this prestigious national designation,” said Averett President Tiffany M. Franks. “Our faculty is committed to academic rigor and immersive, experiential learning experiences that will prepare the next generation of educators and fill a critical workforce need for quality teachers in our nation.”

People also read…

Providers selected for recognition advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through the targeted use of self-learning procedures and evidence-based reporting that ensure quality and support continuous improvement to reinforce P-12 learning. These providers use surveys and assessments to establish quality assurance systems to drive improvement.

Earlier this year, the Council for Educator Readiness Accreditation announced that Averett’s education department had received full accreditation. The standards are the only set of educator preparation standards supported by both national teachers’ unions.

Comments are closed.